Wasn’t it gorgeous today?

Lovely weather here in CC.  My sister (who lives back home) is boycotting my calls.  She says it’s too disgusting to hear me talk about how warm it is and how I need to get a new bathing suit when she’s still scraping ice off her windshield every morning.

Stupid news link of the day:  Epic fail, Dodd

Today’s word count: 0  (Woe!)

Current project: Researching CEO pay in Europe.

Current song on my playlist:  Weezer – Hash Pipe

And now, a word on references.  I imagine this topic will come up a lot on my blog.  It’s a subject very near and dear to my heart (and my intact skin),  and my hobby pet peeve.  Getting guys to name their references.  Ladies who take three weeks to answer a request for a reference.  Ladies who think, “He’s fine.  Wait… no, thinking of someone else.  Yeah, I think he’s fine” counts as an adequate reference.  Guys who use a reference older than Methuselah.  Newbies who call at 3:14 AM and ask if being willing to drop trousers on webcam counts as a reference.  When the definition of “he’s fine” is “he tried to sneak the cover off but apologised for it real nicely later, and didn’t short the envelope by more than fifty bucks.”

Lately, and I’ve no idea why, there’s been a rash of gents thanking me for giving them references.  Only, I didn’t.  I would have; I’d seen each of them, and they’re great guys and hobbyists, but the gal in question hadn’t actually asked me for a reference. 

It’s a bit baffling.  Do y’all think maybe the gals are reckoning that if I’m off the open market, then I must not be giving references?

Published in: on March 11, 2010 at 6:35 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://emilyhemingway.wordpress.com/2010/03/11/wasnt-it-gorgeous-today/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I would have; I’d seen each of them, and they’re great guys and hobbyists, but the gal in question hadn’t actually asked me for a reference.

    It’s a bit baffling. Do y’all think maybe the gals are reckoning that if I’m off the open market, then I must not be giving references?

    There’s a more likely answer. A surprising number of ladies ask for references but never check them. I suppose the theory is that the very willingness to supply references means he’s a good guy. But that assumes that he’s not providing fake references, relying on the lady not checking.

    This is even worse than ladies who accept just a prospective client’s “P4P name” to confirm with the reference. There are guys out there who will pretend to be someone else when scheduling an appointment. If the lady doesn’t ask for — and confirm with the reference — some information beyond just his “P4P name,” a jerk can get through screening.

  2. That sounds counter-productive. The entire point of references is to make sure jerks can’t get through screening. Why bother at all? (Rhetorical. I know the answer has lots of justifications which boil down to “I need cash”.)

    Bah.

    Hello, Chevalier! I’ve been reading your work. Good stuff. Very insightful.


Leave a Reply

