Stupid news link of the day: When Happy Meals are outlawed, then only outlaws will have Happy Meals

Today’s word count:  1320

Current project:  Just started a proofreading project for someone else.

Current song on my playlist:  Static-X, Love Dump

A gent posts something I find quite pertinent over in the Dallas Co-Ed.

I realize in this day of texting, facebook, twitter, and on and on, that a lot of messages are exchanged by means of a ton of abbreviations and minimal capitalization and punctuation. I’m not suggesting that eccie has gone to that level, but I came across a post this morning that raised the question in my mind. Where do we draw the line, or do we?

I hate to point it out, but it doesn’t have anything to do with the internet or modern technological wonders.  That’s just the way people are these days.  All people.  Writers.

My writing experience isn’t limited to just freelance articles on spec.  I’ve done proofreading, beta-reading, had an editorial position which involved slogging through a slush pile.  (For the record, a slush pile is a pile of submissions to be read through in the hopes something good is hiding in that massive collection of dreck.  Usually, the answer is no.  Slush piles are why editors drink – true story.) 

Try proofreading for someone (graduate-level work, mind) who consistently can’t spell worth a damn, and then has to have the concept of homonyms spelled out in excrutiating detail when they want to know why they ran a spell-check and still have to correct so many spelling errors. 

Beta-reading was worse.  I’ve had to patiently explain that dialogue punctuation is not subject to artistic license – and then had the little cunt tell me her English professor said it was fine so she didn’t see why she had to listen to me.  (NOT HELPING, you pandering fuckhead pussy.  Are you sleeping with her or what?  Jesus.)

I will never look another slush pile in the face again without reflexively reaching for strong liquor.

It’s an industry truism that if a would-be writer can manage to put together two consecutive paragraphs without a single error in spelling, punctuation or grammar, they are ahead of 98% of all the other would-be writers out there.  Two whole paragraphs!  This gives me sadface.

If writers, the very definition of which is one with a certain facility with the language, are still struggling with the basics, I’m no longer surprised by anything I see posted by regular folk.

Hurrah, public education.

Published in: on April 29, 2010 at 3:22 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://emilyhemingway.wordpress.com/2010/04/29/66/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

