Feel free to laugh at me.

I laugh at me, regular, so everyone else ought to have a crack at it too, yeah?

I started writing a book.  No, you can’t see it.  I’ve done this before, and when/if it turns out to be crap then only my absolute nearest and dearest will snicker the next time I mention apsirations to the title “novelist”.  Actually, this is the longest I’ve gone with sticking to straight press and leaving the fiction alone.  The last attempt was rather depressing – got 80% through before admitting the plot was complete crap, and finishing it only to find out what happened.

I think it was Mark Twain who said you have to write a million words of crap before you can write one word fit for public consumption.  If we’re counting the freelancing, I hit my million words recently, so maybe this will work out.  We’ll see.

Also, I got stung by a scorpion.  I was buttoning my jeans and thought I’d snagged my finger on a burr, looked….  F’ing Texas.   I freaked out, called a friend and asked how poisonous the damned things are, I mean, did I need to go to the hospital?  (What?  Shut up, I’m not from Texas, I don’t know these things, I can hear you laughing at me from here, Bill.)  Turns out I’ve had worse ant bites.  Didn’t even swell, just stung for a few minutes.

I meant to write more, people have been asking why I wasn’t updating, but none of it sounds all that interesting anymore and I’ve got a pirated copy of A-Team calling my name.

Published in: on August 26, 2010 at 9:36 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://emilyhemingway.wordpress.com/2010/08/26/feel-free-to-laugh-at-me/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Good clarification. I enjoy read it Martha

  2. Ant bites can really be annoying. I always use some anti-inflammatory to treat it. ^

    Up to date content article on our very own web page
    http://www.healthmedicinelab.com/sinus-infection-remedies/

  3. Ant bites can be serious, or even fatal. Angry ants will swarm upon anything in their path and begin to bite if their mounds are disturbed. Every year, millions of people are bitten by ants in the United States alone. Knowing how to treat ant bites is important, even if the only reaction you have is mild.,

    My current web site
    <,http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/benefits-of-grape-seed-extract/


Leave a Reply

