Gobble gobble OMGpuns

This is my favorite holiday! I’ve been cooking for two days.  The turkey looks beautiful.  I’ll tell you the secret to a good bird.

1) I never tent or bag. Instead, put foil over just the breast and pat it down. This keeps the breast from getting too brown before the rest of the bird is done. 

2) Season the cavities with black pepper and stuff fore and aft with onion. As much as you can cram.

3) Mix up a wet baste of about 3/4 cup bacon grease, 3 tbsp mustard, 2 tbsp worschtershire, season-all, onion powder, and black pepper. I never measure, so amounts are a guess but close enough for cable tv. Carefully lift the skin from the breast, working first your hand in and then the handle of a wooden spoon to lift the skin from the meat as far back as you can reach, taking care not to tear the skin. I have little hands, so you guys might want to just use the spoon. Put the wet baste under the skin. I let mine marinate the bird overnight but that isn’t crucial.

4) Slather the outside of the bird in olive oil or bacon fat. This keeps the foil from sticking and gives a nice color.

I’ve got fruit salad, three pumpkin pies, three chocolate cream pies, veggie platters all done.  Still to do-

– garlic butter crescent rolls, waiting on trays covered with damp towels

– the ham

– mashed potatoes

– gravy. I’m showing another lady how to make the gravy, it’s dead simple

– punch

Everything else is someone else’s problem.

Woooo, I’m gonna eat myself sick today.  Happy Thanksgiving!

Published in: on November 25, 2010 at 10:26 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://emilyhemingway.wordpress.com/2010/11/25/gobble-gobble-omgpuns/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That sounds fabulous. You forgot to invite me.

  2. Sounds good. I think basting a turkey is a myth. Foil trick is bonafide though. I ate way too much and am recuperating today.


Leave a Reply

