What Emily Has Been Up To

I’m still getting emails and PMs asking, so I figured I’d fill everyone in.

No, I did not retire.  I didn’t get married, nor am I pregnant.  Yes, I am fine.

Brandy and I are running our own business – she started it up and strongarmed me into going in with her, and I have to say it’s been brilliant.  I always knew Brandy was prone to great ideas.  We figured it would be a nice sideline, and when we got slammed with appointments assumed it was just the flavor-of-the-week thing.  A week, two weeks, three at the most, and then business would go back to a slow, steady stream and I’d go back to my playmates.

That never happened.  It’s been about ten months now and we’re still going strong.  Three out of every five appointments, as a general rule, are repeat customers.  We had competition for a few weeks.  She charged 60% more and was reported to have a “shut up, let’s get this over with and then you get out” demeanor, which really is no competition at all.  The business is low maintenance, easy and fun.  Honestly, I’m having a ball.

I’ve got a new truck.  Big ol’ Expedition, which I’ve named The Beast and love with all my heart.  So awesome.

I also cut off my hair.  It’s just below my ears now.  Brandy hated it, which made me laugh.  Y’all should have heard her when she saw me, “Oh my gawd, what did you do? It looks terrible!”  It’s kind of a pain in the ass, because now I can’t just wind it into a bun to get it out of my face (and I hate it when my hair’s in my face), but I think it looks cute.

I’ve put in a garden, which is doing fabulously despite that I am STILL not used to the south Texas climate and transplanted about six weeks later than I ought to have (and still weeks and weeks before everyone back home).  Herbs, cantaloupe, watermelon, tomatoes, bell peppers, carrots, green beans, salad onions, cucumbers and zucchini.  Yum.

I dragged Brandy out to the bar a few weeks ago.  It was then that I discovered that Brandy, who reports herself as an instant-asshole-just-add-tequila-type, if given enough beer and Jagerbombs will sing karaoke.  We did Styx, “Renegade”, and duuuuude, she went for the high notes.  Go Brandy!  Good times, y’all.  Good times.

Currently re-reading Steven Brust’s “The Phoenix Guards”.  Good book.  Great author.

F, I still have those books by Robert Asprin you loaned me.  Did you ever want them back?

Published in: on May 27, 2011 at 11:20 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://emilyhemingway.wordpress.com/2011/05/27/what-emily-has-been-up-to/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I am happy for you, but I MISS YOU.


Leave a Reply

