I feel so much safer now.

I’m feeling something right now.  It’s warm, gratifying and yet tinged with the slightly acidic taste of bile.  It is, by now, a familiar feeling.  I like to think of it as the I Told You So Effect.

Because I told you so.

Well.  All those people who say, “Don’t like it? Don’t fly” are going to have to come up with a new slogan.  I favor: Homeland Security – Because the Santa Fe Prom Is Terrorist Target Number One, Duh.

You know, I went to prom fifteen years ago and the chaperones biggest concern was some idiot spiking the punch.*  Now it’s terrorists.  Sad world, eh?

I’m taking no particular pleasure in this.  There’s a problem with an assessment that our government is a power-mad police state which views the citizenry as serfs to be herded.  It’s a lose-lose prediction.  Either I’m wrong, in which case I lose, or I’m right, in which case I live in a power-mad police state with the title “Expendable Serf” (and that qualifies as “lose” too).

Is anyone else just really tired of this bullshit?

* Dumb, dumb, dumb.  Everyone knew we were only hanging out long enough to get our pictures taken and dance a few numbers before heading to Jump-Off Joe and Hover, where the real parties were being held.

Published in: on May 29, 2011 at 8:28 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://emilyhemingway.wordpress.com/2011/05/29/i-feel-so-much-safer-now/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Nah, you’re not wrong. Expendable serfs we are; and “really tired” doesn’t even begin to describe my feelings regarding that fact.


Leave a Reply

