Fair warning

Most of y’all who have either been reading for a good while, or who know me fairly well in meatworld, know that I voted for Ron Paul in the last presidential election.

Yes, I know.  We can get into an argument about wasted votes later.  Suffice to say, for the moment, that any vote for neither McCain nor Obama was not a wasted vote, as at least I still have my dignity.

I like Ron Paul.  I like his politics   I like his nicknames, Dr No and Dr Truth Serum.  I even like his sticky-out ears.  He’s the anti-politician.  He’s not pretty, he’s honest and he can’t be bought.

He’s as close as I’m ever going to get to seeing a Constitutionalist on the ballot.  Expect to hear a lot about him from me in the coming months.

Published in: on August 13, 2011 at 11:08 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://emilyhemingway.wordpress.com/2011/08/13/fair-warning/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. For a while now, I’ve been thinking that all votes are wasted votes. Nothing seems to change, no matter who is in charge. I don’t get that upset when “my” candidate loses, and I am not overjoyed when “my” candidate wins. Even if Ron Paul were to win, I don’t see it making much of a difference (no disrespect intended towards Ron Paul or those who support him). Back to the grindstone…Sigh…

    • I agree, actually.

      Obama excited a nation worried about gas prices, the bust of the housing bubble and the financial sector. He promised them hope and change.

      He did not deliver.

      Last year, Republicans and the Tea Party swept the elections by a populace worried about the economy. Voters hoped these people would bring change.

      They did not deliver.

      I’m sensing a pattern here.

      • I think the pattern goes further back. No, the buck does not stop at Bush (he is also not exempt from the pattern). The furthest I can remember is Ford, but it might go further. I’m tempted to say Lincoln (now, that’s change), but I’m not old enough to rely on memory, and I’m not a historian.


Leave a Reply

