What I do when I’m bored

I love food.  When I was little, I wanted to own a restaurant when I grew up.*  In my spare time, I’m usually reading, writing or cooking and the main reason I like gardening so much is the promise of fresh peppers.

Since Brandy and I spend our business hours at the incall, I spend a fair amount of the down time playing with food.  For about a year, I’ve been dehydrating everything in sight, and then I’d turn the dehydrated goods into a powder, and then I’d assemble the various dried powdered foods into mixes of sorts.  (Several of you have been used as tasters, sometimes even knowingly, aha.)

I’m telling you, the stuff smells fabulous too.  I could bury myself in the dried red pepper powder all day long.  Much fresher than anything you could buy in the store, and the vast majority of this you couldn’t get in the store anyway even if you were willing to pay their vastly inflated prices for it.

I do it mostly for the convenience.  If I want carrots or green peppers for a dish, I don’t have to go to the store – I just pop open a jar.  No prep work either.  Brandy likes it, because lunch is usually my job and while most people would swear we have no food at the incall (just ingredients), I can make damned near anything in about twenty minutes.

If you want quality convenience food, sometimes you just have to do it yourself.

 

* My recipe for peach cobbler with homemade honey ice cream would solve the Middle East crisis all by its onesies.

Published in: on August 25, 2011 at 9:52 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://emilyhemingway.wordpress.com/2011/08/25/what-i-do-when-im-bored/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. How do you grind it to a powder? Burr mill? Mortar and Pestle. Inquiring minds want to know. Used to make a lot of dried meat and pemmican. That was a lot of fun.

    • I’ve been making hamburger rocks too. Those are just for storage though.

      I use either a food processor or a blender. Sometimes, depending on what you’re grinding, you’ll have to sift out the bits that didn’t get ground up and then put them back through. Strawberries are the easiest; cooked beans are a right pain in the arse.

  2. Thanks, Have to give that a whirl sometime.


Leave a Reply

